Joan Inga Eyolfson Cadham Award


The Joan Inga Eyolfson Cadham Award was established in 2017 to recognize individuals who have been outstanding in the promotion of Icelandic culture and heritage by way of literature, arts, or media.

The award was established in honour of Joan Eyolfson Cadham, an adventurer, journalist, and weaver of stories, possessed of strong ethics and a deep faith.

A contributor to diverse media, from CBC Radio to Foam Lake Review and Wynyard Advance, Joan was best known in the Icelandic community as the editor of Lögberg-Heimskringla from 2011 to 2014 and the acting editor before then. As a freelance author, editor, and storyteller, Joan was rarely seen without her camera and notebook. She was also active as a leader in the Vatnabyggð Icelandic Club in Saskatchewan, where she put her heart and soul into promoting and maintaining Icelandic traditions and customs.

Joan’s many contributions were recognized when she received the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for her efforts as “a lifelong champion of history and heritage, culture and community.”

Joan Inga Eyolfson Cadham was born on September 9, 1940 in Wadena, Saskatchewan, the daughter of Helgi Andres Eyolfson and Olive Borgfjord. She was raised on a farm near Leslie, where she attended the one-room school at Rosevale until the family moved to Foam Lake. Following high school graduation, she moved to Toronto and studied journalism at Ryerson Institute of Technology. In response to frequent moves and the arrival of children – Joe Chisholm, Ruth Chisholm-Davin, and Inga Chisholm – Joan took a hiatus from writing, but the creative spark reignited when she moved to Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec. Joan returned to Foam Lake with her husband, Jack, in 1992. She died at home in Foam Lake on October 28, 2015.

Joan’s published books include Bent but Not Broken: Today’s Canadian Church (co-authored with David Letourneau and Dennis Dwyer, 1992), Red Right Returning (1998), The Canadian Book of Days (co-authored with Harvey Grossman, 2005), The Prairie Does Flourish: Sisters of St. Elizabeth – 100 Years of Blooming on Canadian Soil (2011), and The Twelve Gifts of Christmas and Other Stories (2015).

Recipients of the Award:


 2017 W.D. (Bill) Valgardson of Victoria, BC – awarded in Grand Forks, ND
 2018 Stefan Jonasson, awarded in Edmonton, AB
 2019 David Gislason, awarded in Winnipeg, MB


Copyright © Icelandic National League of North America - All Rights Reserved

INL Logo created by Artist Andrew Saur.

#103 - 94 1st Avenue, Gimli MB R0C 1B1 Canada; Phone 204-642-5897; Fax 204-642-9382
Click to send us an email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software