• Home
  • About
  • Laurence Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award

Laurence S. G. Johnson

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Laurence S. G. Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award was initiated in 2003 to be bestowed upon a recipient for “contributions not only to the Icelandic Community but also in the community at large”

Laurence (Larry) Steingrimur Gudni Johnson played many roles in both his volunteer life and career.  Larry played an instrumental part in the Icelandic community as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the New Iceland Heritage Museum, President of the Bruin Chapter of the Icelandic National League and President of the Icelandic National League of North America.  As a volunteer, Larry’s dedication extended to the Selkirk and District Chamber of Commerce, Selkirk and District Hospital Board, Manitoba Health Organization, Interlake Health Network, Big Brothers/Big Sisters, Selkirk Community Library Board, Selkirk Arts Festival and the Heart and Stroke Foundation.

In 1993, Larry was honoured as the city of Selkirk’s Citizen of the Year.  In 1994, Larry and Edith’s family were named by the Province of Manitoba as Family of the Year.  Larry and Edith were also featured on an episode of the television program, Cross Country Canada showcasing their shared passion of old time dancing.

Larry was born in Hnausa, Manitoba on June 29, 1928.  He was educated in Riverton and Stonewall, MB.  He worked as a teacher, carnie, sales representative, hotel and retail manager, motorcycle cop, volunteer board member, president, loving husband, father and Afi.  Wherever his life took him, Larry’s passion and dedication touched the hearts and lives throughout his life.

Recipients of the Award:

2003 Neil Bardal of Winnipeg, MB, awarded in Edmonton, AB
2004 Dr. Ken Thorlakson of Winnipeg, MB, awarded in Hecla, MB
2005 Stella Stephanson of Elfros, SK, awarded in Vatnabyggð, SK
2006 Lillian Gudmundson of Arborg, MB, awarded in Victoria, BC
2007 Stefan Stefanson of Gimli, MB, awarded in Winnipeg, MB
2008 Dilla Narfason of Gimli, MB, awarded in Calgary, AB audio presentation reply
2009 Walter Sopher of Edmonton, AB, awarded in Gimli, MB audiopresentation
2010 Haraldur Bessason of Iceland/Winnipeg/Toronto, awarded in Toronto, ON (posthumously) audiopresentation
2011 Margaret Evelyn Hillman Johansson of Spruce View, AB awarded in Edmonton, AB presentation
2012 Gunnthora Gisladottir awarded in Brandon,MB
2013 Alene Thorunn Moris, awarded in Seattle, WA
Dr. Ron Goodman, awarded in Winnipeg, MB
Gunnvör Danielsdóttir Ásmundsson. awarded in Minneapolis, MN
2016 Garry Oddleifson, awarded in Vancouver, BC
2017 Gail Einarson-McCleery of Toronto, ON – awarded in Grand Forks, ND
 2018  Donald E. Gislason, awarded in Edmonton, AB
 2019  Margrét (Maddý) Kristjánsdóttir Arnar and Örn Arnar, MD, awarded in Winnipeg, MB
Copyright © Icelandic National League of North America - All Rights Reserved

INL Logo created by Artist Andrew Saur.

#103 - 94 1st Avenue, Gimli MB R0C 1B1 Canada; Phone 204-642-5897; Fax 204-642-9382
Click to send us an email

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software